Maca Magic . . .

Firstly, let me apologise. It has been too long since my last blog post. The Summer holidays are feeling distant and September was a hectic blur of school and getting back into a routine.

I have been busy getting back on track with my CSNN studies, am working on content for my new website and have also set myself the challenge of completing in a triathlon next year! Knowing I have to motivate myself led me to signing up with BFitbc. https://www.facebook.com/Bfitbc

The owner/trainer Karl Budd has more belief in me than I have right now although he keeps reassuring me that will change. I haven’t done any ‘serious’ working out in well, a rather long time. Preferring a gentler mode of exercise, I will more often than not, be found  practising my yogi skills of shavasana. However, more cardio and strength work is needed and Karl has set me up with a manageable 6 week  foundation schedule to build strength. I am back on a bike and signed up with Strava – Karl also runs Velopower http://velopower.info – and guess what . . . I am absolutely loving it! I especially like that Karl teaches his Cross-Training sessions outside, utilizing the terrain where we live. Each day is different and I think that the variety makes it more fun.

This also means that I am thinking of ways to provide my body with the optimum nutrition it needs to get me through these sessions and then the day ahead.

Maca is an amazing superfood from Peru that history shows has been around for at least 5,800 years. For thousands of years, Peruvians have used the root of this plant to treat tuberculosis and other lung disorders, stomach cancer, hormone irregularities, increase libido, stimulate fertility, improve memory, relieve depression and increase energy. It is full of B vitamins including B12, high in calcium and is an excellent source of all the amino acids

Image

Maca is a truly amazing plant, not only for its superfood status but the fact that it grows in such an inhospitable location. It thrives at altitudes as high as 16,000ft above sea level in poor rocky soil where little else will grow.

The Science Bit . . .

Maca is nutritionally dense, with dried maca containing . . .

  • 59% carbohydrates
  • 10% protein
  • 9% fibre
  • 2% lipids

It is an excellent source of potassium which is a micronutrient that works with sodium  to balance fluid levels in the body as well as the pH of these fluids. Potassium also . . .

  • Regulates heartbeat
  • Aids in transporting oxygen and other nutrients to the brain
  • Helps prevent high blood pressure
  • Regulates blood sugar
  • Calms nerves
  • Aids the body in stressful times

Stress is a huge factor for most of us these days and anything we can do to support our bodies during stressful times has to be of benefit. We utilize more potassium during stressful periods making maca an excellent supporting food. It  contains calcium, magnesium, silica, copper, iron, zinc, manganese, sodium and iodine.

Maca is very easy to digest making it a great food for anyone with poor digestion, celiac disease or other digestive disorder. It is also very high in fibre.

Sterols – are the precursor to steroids and maca is full of them in glorious natural abundance. No harmful side affects! Therefore, maca not only helps create lean muscle mass and burn fat but also increases physical stamina and endurance during a workout. How cool is that!

Another point worth mentioning is that maca is an excellent, natural support for hormonal health. So, whilst the appeal is more energy, stamina and endurance, it is reassuring to know that I am also supporting my hormonal health.

Maca is not a drug, it is a food and therefore very safe , with no side effects and doesn’t interfere with other supplements or drugs.

Oh . . . and dare I mention the subject maca is most well known for? A healthy libido! There have been many formal studies that show maca helps greatly with restoring and increasing libido in both men and women.

Have I convinced you to give it a try yet?

This is my favourite Maca Magic Smoothie recipe at home. My teenage son and young daughter love it! Oh, and don’t worry about raising an already ‘revved’ up teens libido! Maca is adaptogenic and will provide your teen with loads of great nutrients which are often lacking from their diets.

Try adding it to oatmeal, desserts, muffin and cookie recipes . . . .

Maca Magic Smoothie – serves 1

  • 1 ripe spotty banana
  • 1 cup almond milk or enough to cover the banana
  • 2T raw cacao
  • 2T hemp seeds
  • 1T maca
  • 1/2 t vanilla

Blend and enjoy.

Image

Resources: The Wonders of Maca by Carmen Mattes, MH.

Disclaimer – This blog is based on my own journey with whole, plant based foods. I am sharing it with you for educational and informational use only

3 thoughts on “Maca Magic . . .

  1. Lovely Tish as always a great read
    thanks for sharing your knowledge ! I’m looking forward to trying my Maca Magic smoothie tomorrow 🙂 well done this morning !

  2. Love this blog, well done on the Triathlon. Where can I buy Maca in the UK Tish? Love reading your Blogs as ever you are my inspiration to keeping myself healthy and fit xxxxxx

    • Hi Nads, Thank you so much for your comment. It is so good to hear that you are inspired. What an amazing role model you are for your two wonderful girls 😉 You should be able to buy Maca Root Powder in most good health stores. Amazon UK also sells it online as so many other health product companies. Let me know what you think once you have tried it . . . and the girls! xx

Leave a comment